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construction that the expression of one thing implies the exclusion of other
things. Numerous decisions of the Supreme Court of Michigan have followed
this rule of statutory construction. Taylor v. Michigan Public Utilities
Commission, 217 Mich. 400, 186 N.W. 485. Nowack v. Auditor General,
243 Mich. 200, 219 N.W. 749. Sebewaing Industries, Inc. v. Village of
Sebewaing, 337 Mich. 530, 60 N.W. (2) 444,

Therefore, it is my opinion that the name of the distributor or sales organ-
ization claiming exclusive ownership of a brand name appearing on a label
registered in the office of the Secretary of State as a trade-mark need not
appear on such label,

It is my further opinion that in the absence of statutory authority the
Secretary of State has no authority under the Trade-Mark Act to require
that all labels of alcoholic beverages filed in his office show the name of
the owner of the brand name of the product as well as the manufacturer’s
name, if they are different.

FRANK J. KELLEY,
Attorney General.

LH 100, 2.

SOCIAL WELFARE: “Convalescent Home,” definition of.

No. 4326 October 6, 1964,

The Honorable Kent T. Lundgren
State Senator for the Thirtieth District
Menominee, Michigan

You ask the meaning of the term “convalescent home” as contained in
Act No. 202 P.A. 1964, amending Section 28 of the Michigan Social Welfare
Actl The 1964 act increases from $90.00 to $140.00 the amount of
assistance directly payable to old age assistance recipients being cared for
in hospitals or convalescent homes. The pertinent language is as follows:

“The amount of assistance shall be fixed with due tegard to the
condition of the individual and community and the circumstances in
each case; but in no month shall the direct payment to the individual
exceed $90.00 except that in the case of hospitalization or care in a
convalescent home of any recipient of old age assistance, the amount
of assistance granted may be in an amount not to exceed $140.00 per
month, for a number of months equal to the number of months during
any part of which such care was received.” (Emphasis supplied)

The term “convalescent home” is defined by rule of the Social Welfare
Commission as follows:

“A convalescent home shall be defined to include: (a) a nursing

home licensed by the state department of health; (b) a nursing home

1 Act No. 280, P.A. 1939, as amended, is the Social Welfare Act, being C.L.
1948 and C.I1.5. 1961 §§ 400.1 er seq.; M.S.A. Rev. Vol. 1960 and 1963 Cum,
Supp. §§ 16.401 et seq. Section 28 is CL.S. 1961 § 400.28; M.S.A. Rev. Vol,
1960 § 16.428 as amended by Act No. 202, P.A. 1964,
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other than the client’s own home caring for 3 or fewer persons pro-
viding adequate nursing or convalescent care as determined by the
county bureau of social aid, and (c) a county medical care facility
approved by the state department of social welfare.”2

Inquiry reveals that the purport of your question is whether the State
Department of Social Welfare has legal power to pay the $140.00 per
month to old age assistance recipients living in nursing homes caring for
less than four persons, when such home is approved by the State Depariment
of Social Welfare. You pointed out to a member of my staff that the State
Health Commissioner licenses only “institutions”—that is, facilities caring
for four or more persons—as nursing homes. Thus, you question the legality
of paying the $140.00 upon approval by the State Department of Social
Welfare to a person in a home other than an institution licensed as a nursing
home by the State Health Commissioner.

Section 26 of the Michigan Social Welfare Act provides in pertinent part
as follows:

“0ld age assistance shall be given to any person who . . .

“(c) Is not an inmate of any institution: Provided, That old age
assistance may be paid to an inmate of an institution under the con-
ditions established in section 42 of this act; . . . .

“(g) Although in need of continual care, is receiving proper care
outside an institution as determined by the rules and regulations of the
state bureaus . . . ... ” (Emphasis supplied)?

Section 42 of the Michigan Social Welfare Act permits payment of old
age assistance to any person otherwise eligible therefor while such person
is a patient in a public medical institution or a private medical, charitable,
benevolent or fraternal institution, provided

“, . . That the state department of social welfare has approved and
that it and its agents are permitted freely to visit and inspect said
institution. . . ™

A person in such facility, if otherwise qualified and receiving care approved
by the State Department of Social Welfare, may therefore receive up to
$140.00 upon such approval.

It is questionable whether an establishment offering nursing care to less
than four persons is an “institution” within the purview of Section 42;
however, the language of Sections 26(g) clearly authorizes and, indeed,
requires the State Department of Social Welfare to find eligible for old
age assistance any person needing continual care who is receiving proper

21954 Administrative Code, 1957 Annual Supp. R 400.5 (18). The licensing
of nursing homes is provided for in Act 139, P.A. 1956, CL.S. 1961 §§ 330.651
et seq.; M.S.A. 1963 Cum. Supp. §§ 14.1281 e seq. These homes are licensed by
the State Department of Health. County medical care facility: § 58, 58b of the
Michigan Social Welfare Act, Act 280, P.A. 1939, as amended, C.L.S. 1961
§ 400.58; M.S.A. 1960 Rev. Vol. § 16.458; C.L.5. 1961 § 400.58b; M.5.A. 1963
Cum. Supp. § 16.458(2).

3 C.L.S. 1961 § 400.26; M.S.A. 1960 Rev. Vol. § 16.426,

+CL.S. 1961 § 400.42; M.S.A. 1960 Rev. Vol. § 16.442,
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care outside an institution as determined by the rules of the bureau. If
thus approved by the state, care in a home offering approved care to less
than four old age assistance recipients would qualify the clients to receive
$140.00 per month for each month during any portion of which such care
was given, as provided by Act 202, P.A. 1964.

I call your attention to the fact that it is the care rather than the home
which is approved in this case.

It is therefore my opinion that a home offering care for less than four
elderly persons, if such care is approved by the State Department of Social
Welfare, is a proper facility for old age assistance recipients, and that such
recipients, if otherwise eligible, may receive $140.00 per month while being
cared for in such homes as provided by Act 202, P.A. 1964,

FRANK J. KELLEY,
Attorriey General.

(4 (00%)
SOCIAL SECURITY: Couwrt commissioner as officer.

Court commissioners appointed under Act 352, P.A. 1925, to appraise
damages to be paid in certain condemnations, cannot be classified as public
officers and are thus ineligible for social security coverage.

No. 4370 October 8, 1964.

Mr. Lawrence L. Farrell
Administrator

Social Security Contribution Fund
State Employees’ Retirement Board
330 Lewis Cass Building

Lansing, Michigan

Act 205, P.A, 1951, as amended, being C.L.S. 1961 § 38.851 et seq.;
M.S.A. 1960 Rev. Vol. § 17.80% et seq., provides for the coverage of cer-
tain officers and employees of the State of Michigan and local governments
under the old-age and survivors insurance provisions of Title II of the
Federal Social Security Act as amended. You have asked whether court
commissioners appointed under Act 352, P.A. 1925, to appraise damages
to be paid in certain condemnations are public officers and, thus, entitled
to social security coverage.

Act 352, P.A, 1925, authorizing the appointment of court commissioners
for appraisal purposes is found at C.L. 1948 § 213.171 et seq.; M.S.A. 1958
Rev. Vol. § 8.171 et seq. Section 13 specifies that the court shall appoint
three distinterested persons as commissioners when there is to be a hearing
on damages. Their duty is to appraise the damages to be paid as compen-
sation for the taking. They shall not be residents of the township where the
property is situated. The court shall fix the time of their first meeting
and may authorize adjournments, It shall also fix the time for the com-
missioners to file their report,




