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LABOR LAW: Minimum Wage Law of 1964.
WAGE, DEVIATION BOARD: Commissioner of Labor.

The 13-week employment period in section 3 of the minimum wage law
began to operate on August 28, 1964, the effective date of Act 154, P.A.
1964,

The Commissioner of Labor has no vote on the Wage Deviation Board.,

No. 4404 February 22, 1965.

Mr. Roy W. Johns
Commissioner of Labor
Lansing, Michigan

You have requested an opinion concerning the effective date of section
3 of Act 154, P.A. 1964. Secton 3 provides as follows:

“No employer shall employ for more than 13 weeks in any 4 con-
secutive 3-month periods any employee at a rate of less than prescribed
in this act.”

Section 4 of the act provides as follows:

“(1) The minimum hourly rate shall be:

(a) Beginning January 1, 1965, $1.00.
(b) Beginning January I, 1966, $1.15.
(¢)  Beginning January 1, 1967, $1.25.

“(2) It is the intent of the legislature that any increases or
decreases in the minimum hourly rate, established in this act after
1967, shall reflect corresponding increases or decreases in the cost of
living.”

More precisely your question is whether the 13-week period specified in
section 3 begins to operate on August 28, 1964, which is the eflective date
of the act as a whole, or on Japuary 1, 1965, which is the first date upon
which a minimum hourly rate became effective.

It is my opinion that the 13-week period began to operate as to all

employers subject to the act as of the effective date of the act, i.e., August
28, 1964.

It is the clear intention of the act to require employers subject thereto
to begin paying the prescribed minimum wage rate beginning January 1,
1965. If on that date such employers had employees with employment
tenures of 13 weeks or more, they must have begun paying the minimum
wage to those employees on January 1, 19635.

You also ask whether the Commissioner of Labor, as secretary of the
Wage Deviation Board, has a vote in matters considered by the Board.

Section 5 of the act provides as follows:

“After the effective date of this act, the governor shall appoint a
wage deviation board composed of 3 representatives of the employers,
3 representatives of the employees and 3 persons representing the
public; 1 of the last 3 shall be designated as chairman. Members
shall serve for terms of 3 years, except that of the members first
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appointed, 1 from each group shall be appointed for 1 year, 1 for 2
years and 1 for 3 years. The commissioner shall be secretary of the
wage deviation board. A majority of the members of the board
constitutes a quorum and the recommendation or report of the board
requires a vote of not less than a majority of its members. Members
of the board shall receive no compensation but may be reimbursed
for actual and necessary expense while on official duty.”

The Commissioner of Labor is not a member of the Board. Since the
recommendations and reports of the Board require “a vote of not less

~ than a majority of its members,” it is clear that the Commissioner cannot

vote on matters considered by the Board.
FRANK J. KFLLEY,

Q 5.- o 27 5-, _L Attorney General.

CONSTITUTIONAL LAW: Exemption from taxation,
TAXATION: Power to grant exemption from income tax.

Article IX, § 7 of the Michigan Constitution of 1963, does not har the
legislature from exempting a certain dollar amount of gross income or a
certain specified portion of a taxpayer’s income or from providing exemp-
tions for a taxpayer and his dependents similar to those provided for under
the federal income tax law.

No. 4415 : February 25, 1965.

Hon. Basil W. Brown
State Senator

The Capitol

Lansing, Michigan

Atrticle IX, § 7 of the Michigan Constitution of 1963 provides as follows:

“No income tax graduated as to rate or base shall be imposed by
the state or any of its subdivisions.”

You ask my opinion on the following question:

Does Article IX, § 7 of the Michigan constitution of 1963 bar the
legislature from the enactment of a flat rate income tax based on gross
income at a specified rate and allow exemptions to taxpayers of a
certain dollar amount of their gross income or to exempt certain
specified portions of the taxpayer’s income and provide exemptions
for the taxpayer and his dependents similar to those provided under
the federal income tax law?

The law appears well settled that the power to exempt from taxation is
reposed in the legislature and subject only to constitutional limitation.
Auditor General v. MacKinnon Boiler & Machine Co., 199 Mich. 489
(1917); Lucking v, People, 320 Mich. 495 (1948).

In Article IX, § 4, the people have commanded that property owned
and occupied by non-profit, religious or educational organizations shall be




