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MOTOR VEHICLES: Motor vehiele accident claims Famd,

Under Act 198, P.A, of 1965, as amended, the legislature has provided
that cvery person registering & motor vehicle [or the |46 registration
vear aud thercafter, s required Lo presemt evidence that the velicle s
vovercd by public liabilily und property damage insuranee mecting the
requirements of the Financial Responsibility Law and pav a [ee of $L.04,
or paly an wninsured molorisl fec of $35.00,

The law provides that if the policy uf insnrance lapses or |5 cancelled
during the registration vesr und is not replaced by anolhur gualifyving
policy, the owner must, hefore operaling the vehicle upon the highways
of e state, pay the uninsured mutorist fec of $35.00.

The fer required by Act 198, us umended, is payable only onee for a
vebicle during the ropistration vear and is not reqircd to be paid agaiu
upott trunsfer of the registralion ¢ o sccond vehicle.

The law permits claims to he made against the fmd for damages ccea-
sioned by the operation in Michiuan of an uninsured motor velicls mwned
k¥ a nonaesident.

No, 4453 January 31, 1946,

Hen, Raymond D. Dvendzel
Statc Senator

The Capitol

Lavsing, Michigan

Your recent lettor requests my opinion upon several gquestions relating
foe Acl Mo, 198, DA, of 1965, which pravides for the cstablishment of a
motor vehicle accident claims fund, The act was mads effective November
1, 1963, and way approved by Ciovernor Eomney Tuly 16, 1965, kt was
later ammended by Act No. 389, P.A. of 1965, Comsiderution will now he
given to the first six guestions presented whicl will be answeared seriotim:

“I. s every person who regislers & motor vehicle for 1he 1866 rog-
isfration year required to pmyv the additional fes rrescribed by the
act the amount therenf depending upan whether nt the time of apply-
g for repistrulion said motor vehicl: is insured under o puhblie
Liability and property damape pulicy?

Act 198, as amended, specifies in Seclion 3

“(2)  Every person registering an uninsured matos vehicle in this
state for the 1966 repistradon vear, and for esch year thereafter, ghall
pay anpually ul the dme of ragistering Lhe same, in addition io BV
other lee preseribed by law, n fee of $35.00, Such fee shall pot be
paid in connection wilh a transfor of registration plates,

“{3) Every person 1egisiering any other roolor vehicle i this
stute for the 1966 registration vear, and Ior cach year thereufter, shall
Pa¥y annuully at the time of registering the same, W addition to any
nther fec prescribed by luw, a foe of $1.00. Such fee shall not he
Paid in conneclion with 3 transfer of registration plates.”

Suhject to the exceptions Lsled under Section 216 of Act No. 200, P.A. of
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1949, the Michigan vebicle code! every motfor vehicle driven or moved
upon a public highway of this state is required tw he registersd, The oblim-
tion of applying for registration is placed wpon the owner, und in the case of
a vehicle purchased from a dealer, upom the dealer.? Tvery person applying
far registralion of a motot vehicle for a period commencing with the 1366
repistration vear® mav present svitlence of the existence of a poliey of public
liability and property damage insurance covering such vehicle which meels
the requiremenis of Chapter ¥ of Act No, 300, P.A. of 1849, az amended,
betng C.L.S. 1061 § 237.501, ei seq.; M.S.A. 1960 Rev. Vol. § 9.2201, et
ser. # the financial responsibility act, snd puy the fee of 51.00 prescribod
by Act No. 198, as amended, Dersons applying lor regisiration of any
moter vehicle wha are not coverand by such a policy of public linhility wod
property damage insurance shall pay a jee of $35.00 under the act.

#3  Does the act provide any specific method for a person in es-
lublish thai a maotor vehicle i3 coveres! hy insurance? If not, has the
department of stale promutgated regulations under lhe act covering
this subject?™

No, this is an administrative detail to be preseribed by the secretary of
state. Mo Tormal regulation has as yet been issued; however, after conferring
with representalives of the insurance industry, ihe secratary has draficd
a form of certificate to ba Iurnished by the insurer cvidencing the existence
of a poliey of public lability wnd property damage insurance ar has
announced thal al least for the time being his office will accept as gallulac-
tory proof of the cxistence uf such a policy an¥ of the following:

.. Such a certificate by the insurer furnishing the required infurma-
tion wilk respect to the policy of insurunce.

b, Letrer from the npplicant’s agent setting forth the sume infermation.
v.  The policy itsell,

“%  Tf w moler vehicle is covered hy imswrance at the timec of
Tegistration for the 1961 registration year but ibe policy of insurance
i thereafter cancellod or lipsed, would the owner have to pay the
additional uninsured motorise fee al that time? How will ihis reqinre-
mett be opioroed?”

Scotion 3 {5) of Act 198, P A 1965, s amended by Act 389, P AL 1967,
gpecifics:

“(5) Upon the cancellution or lapse of a motor vehicle hubsility
insurance policy, or if the person’s insvrance shall terminate hy rewxm
of the company wilh whom he¢ is insured becoming insolvent or in
hankruptcy ot reecivership, ihe owner of such auwiomobile shall pay

1 8ection 216 was last amended by Aci Mo, 248, P.A. of 1964, being YL3.A
Cuor, MaL § 9.1916. The Michigan vehisls cods appears in C.1.5. 1u61 & 257.1,
el »eg.

2 Beplion 217 was last amended by Act No. 248, PLA ob 1564, hemg M.3A.
{ur. Mat, § 9.1517.

% Acl No. 198 becwne cffcutive on Nevember 1, 1965, See Section 31 of
Act 198,

4 {ertain sections were amended wnd iwo sections were sdiled by Act MNos,
140 apd 171, P.A. of 1964,
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the uninsured motor vehicle fec cstablished in subsection (2) or oh-
tain insurance before operating the vehicle upan the highways of this
state. Failure io do 3o constitutes a misdemeanor.™

The legistature hus clearly provided Lere thut as of the date of the ter-
mination of such insurance coverage, il becounes incombent 11pen the owmer
to pay the “uninsured motor wvebicle [ee” prescribed by Section 3 (2) nor
obtain insurance upnn the vehicle hefore operating or pectnilling its apera-
tion upon the public hishways. The amount of such lee is fixed by the
amendatory act at 535,00 for the Tegistration vear.

You also inquire as to how this rerquircment will be enforced. As far
ax the act is concerned, Seciion 4 (1) requires the owner or operator of a
motor vehicle nperated vpon the public highways of the state to produce
Upon request of any peace officer evidence that sither:

1. The vehicle ix insured subject to limits speeilicd by the act, or
2. The uningured motor vehiclk: lee has been paid.

Scction 4 (4) provides that an ownsr ar operalor who knowingly produces
false evidence with respect thereto shall be guilty of a misdemesnor. In
addition to the ordinary penuhies provided by law therefor, conviction
is wrounds for the smspensivn by the secretary of stalc ol the operator’s
licemse or chawlTeurs license of such o person together with his moior
vehicle regedration for a period of nul more than ONe Vear,

In order that the owner or operaior will be able to produce evidence
while Jriving that the vehicle i~ insured. the document presented to the
recretary of state as evidence of that fact will be returmed to him g he
pvailable for produclion for that purpose. That will be trie whether it is
a certificate, letter, or the policy of inwurance. In addition There will ha
erclorsed upon the certificale of registration the amounl of The foe whether
3100 or $35.00 puid in compliance wilth Act No. 198, as aniended. I'hms,
should ihe vehicle pot be insured, Ihe rcgistration certificats will evidenars
payment of the $35.00 fee.

“4. T n person who has previmsly registered automuobile X for
the registration year which wns covered by Hability insurnnce and
ubsequently trades automuohile X in upon the purchase ol automobile
Y

L

8. Will he be reguired to present evidence at the tme of
registering antomohile Y that said vehicle iy covered by public lia-
bility und property damapge insurance?

“h. What evidence will he be required to present that automo-
bile Y is covered by public liability and property damage insuranoe®”

Section 3 (2) and (3) ol Act Wo. 198, P.A. 1969, a8 amended by Aci
389, P.A. 1965, specifies:

“f2} Lvery pemon registering an uninsured metor vehicle in ihis
state for the 1966 registration year, uni lor cach vear thereafter, shall
, pay annmadly at the time of regislering the same, in addition to any
other fee prescribed by law, a fae of $35.00 Such fee shall not be
Peid in connection with a transfur of rogistration plates.
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%¢1) Bverv person regislering any other motor vehicle io this
state for the 1966 registration yenr, aml For each year thereafrer, shall
piay annually at the time of registering the sume, in addition to any
other foo prescrihed by law, a fes of $1.00. Such fee shall net be
paid in connection with & rrensfer of Tegistration plates.”

The law requites that at the time of registering way otur vehicle, new
or used, the person applying therefor will be required to present cvidance ax
ta the existence of public liability and property damage insutance COVCTage,
or puvment of the uninsuréd motorist fec will be required.

As expressly stated in Section 3 {2) and (3) ol Act 198, as amended.
the owner of #n imsared oT unipsured moior vehicle is not reguired to pay
the same fes more thap once during the sama registiation year by resson
of the transfer of his registration plates to analher vehicle, Tt will be
necessnTy in repistering automobile Y to produce cvidence of inxurance upon
vehicle ¥. In the cvent the owner dues not produce evidence of insurance
or vehicle Y, he wiil be aubjeet to payment of the $35.00 fee.  If vehicle X
wis registered as uninsured by such persom, registration plates are trans-
forred to vehicle Y without an additional foo. Lo answer to guestion Iy, the
proof of insurancc Tequiredd would be the same as s sot forth in tha
answer to gquestion 2 above.

“s  When an automohile dealer makes application upon behall
ol & purchaser for the rcgistration ol a new or used vehicle, will the
dealer he reguired to present evidence of puhlic liability and property
daraage insutanee upon swid vehicle?

The kw clearly provides that such requurenient is applicable to cvery
peisen making application tor the registration of 2 motor vchicle.  Fn-
ability to presem svidence of imsurance will reqaire payment of the
$35.00 fee except where the regislration plates are heing transierred and
the 535.00 fee has heen previgmsly paid.

“g. Can a Michigan resident who is injured by a nonrcsident
uninsurcd motorist make a claim against the fund?  Can he if the
acoidenl occured outside the State o Michigan?”

Thar the accident must have occarred within the State of Michigan in
arder lu qualify for the making of u cluim apainst the fund is evidenced
by the following prrvisions of the act. Scotion & (1), as amended by
Acl 389, P AL 1965, provides:

“Where the dearh of or personal injury of property damage Lo any
person or property s covasioned fn rhis siete bv an uninsured motor
vehicle, any person who would have o cause of actiom upuinsi the
awner of driver of he unipstred motor vehicle in respeet o the
denlh ur personal injury, or properly Jamage eXCEpt 4 DCrSL entitled
to make an application under section 7, may muke upplication. in a
form prescribed by the sceretary, for payment out of the fund sub-
ject to the limitations provided in this act [or all damages in respect
to the death or personal injury and for dumages in excess of £200.00
in respect to property demage’ {Emphasis supplied}
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Section 7 (1), as nmended by Act 382, DA, 1965, specifies:

“Subject to section 8, where a pemson recovers in any court in this
state a judgnient for damuges on account of injury to or the desth of
ANy person or property damage oocasioned In this state by an uninsured
motor vehicle owned or operated by the judgment debtor within this
state, upon the determination of all proceedings, inclinling appels,
he may make applicalion. in the lorm prescribed by the scorciary
and the secretary shall pay the amount of the judgment or of the
unsatisfied portion thereof, subject to the limitalwns provided in this
act with respect to death or personal injury and lthe amount of the
ndgment or of the unsatisfied portion thereof, in excess of $200.00
with respeet to property damage out of the fund.” (Emphasis supplied}

See also similar qualifying phrases in Sections 12, 13, 15, and 23,

The second of the lwo questions numbered six i3 accordingly answered
in Lhe negative.

Whether a Michigan resident who suffers pemsonal injury or property
damage caused in this stale by o nonresident vninsured motorist 15 su-

thorized fo make 2 cluim against the fund, presents a more difficult
question,

The legislabure has provided that the fund 3 to be financed throngh the
payment of tees, imposed by this act, only on residents of Michipan;¥ that
the purpos¢ of the fund is to provide 2 solrce of recovery b gesnlents of
Michigan for damapes sullered in aulomohile neeidents cavscd by uninsured
motorists; and that the money available for this purpese is denived solely
from the feer paid into the fund by fhess same residenls of Michican. 1t
if also obvious that if & preal muny cliims are made against the fund, as
woresult of damage eanscd by nonresidents, whe have made no eentribution
to the fund, this might bave a tendency to impair the solvency of the fundl

In amswering this gueslion, we take cognizance of cortain undispured
rutes of statutory consttuction.

1. The words of a statute must be given their ordinary sl usul
meaning.

Hammors v. Franzhlau, 331 Mich, 572.
Jlewel tea Campany, Inc. v. Board of Pharmacy, 335 Mich. 673.

2. Full effect must be given ti the inlent of the legislature.
Fan Aniwerp v, State, 332 Mich, 593, 599600, citing Ciry of
Girard Rapids v, Cracher, 219 Mich, 178, 182, 183,

3. Exceptions in a statute are careluwlly serulinized and not ex-
tended bevond thelr plain mweuning. The mle of construction is that
excentions to an act shall appear in the act.

Grand Rapids Motor Coachh Co, v. FPublic Service Commizsion,
J8cction 3 f2) and (33, provide for the collection of certain fees from
persena regiatering vehicles in this state. Relevant provisions uf the Michigan
vehicle code, which govern the registration of vehicles, make it clear, with
Enos exveplions not relevant hore, that only residents of Mickigun are Te
quired to register {heir vebicles in Bichigam,
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323 Mich, 624, and Arends v, Grand Rapids Railway Co., 172 Mich.
442,

4. Statutes reluting to the same subject, being in pari materia,
should be construcd togother and cftect given to all of them.

In ve Jores Bxlede, 334 Mich. 392
Palmer v, State Land Office Board, 304 Mich, 828,

Therefore the question of whether a Michipan resident ¢an recover for
damages suffered under these clircumetances, depends on the intent of the
legiglature in cnacting Act 198, as amended, and that infent must be
derived from the several provisions of the act itself

A teview of Act 193, as amended, makes it clear that the legislaturs in-
tended to provide a source of recovery for victims ol uninsired molorisis,
The legislature did, however, place cortain restrictions and limitations io
the act with respect to the persons whe could make a claim from the
fund, under whal circumizlunces they could make such a clains, and the
emount and type ol dumsges which could be iocluded in such elzim.

Im Act 198, the lepislamre provides for the crealionm of a motor vehicle
accident claims fund and also provides a source of revenue for that fund.
(Sce. 33

The ucl granis the right o make a claim from that fund to ** * * any
person * ¢ %7 who would have o canse ol actiom againsi the owner or
driver of an uninsored motor vehicle which causes deuth, persomal injury
pr properly damage.  This right is limited, however, to those cases
where the death, personal injury or properly damage is occasioned, “* * *
o this state * * * [(Sces. 6 (13, 7 (1), 12 and 13)

The right to make swch n chom s (urther limited to residents of this
state and residents of jurisdictions Im which recoome of 2 substantially
similar characier to that provided by Act 198 i3 afforded o residents of
thiz =lale, [Sec. 23)

The amount of the claim which s payihle frum the fund is also limited.
The fund will only pay for property domuge in any one accident which
exceeds 3200000 and dees not execed $5,00000 exclusive of costs. ‘The
fund will pay lor all personal injuy, subjeet to a limit of 510,000.00 for
death or injury to onc persom and a limil of $20,00000 for dezth or injury
of more than one person, in any one accident. (Secs. & (1), 7 (1}, 19, 23}
The amounl uf the claim which is payable from the fund is further Jimited
to exchide damages which are compensated for under 2 policy of insurance
or under a contract. agreemcent or arrangement providing for the payment
af compensation, indemnity or other benefits,  {Sge. 22)

After setting up this Lund, granting a right to make a claim from tl}e
fund to certain persons. and then limiting ihe umonnt which may be paid
(1 those persons from the fund, Act 198 further provides that no payment
can be made o any person untess the secretary is subroguted, either con-
tractually or statutorily, to the rights of Lhe person io Whom the payment is
e,

Finally, with the ohvinus intention of ¢ontinming a conccpt which hes
been the core of the Financial Respunsihility Law, aad alse for the pur-
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rosg of improving the finsneial condition of the fund, the lepislatire has
authorized the seerctary to exercise his subrogation rights against the person
who caused the damrage, ane Lo lake whalever sclion isx necessary Lo re-
cover from thal person, fhe smount paid from the fund. The sccretary
s authorized to suspend the cperator's license and vehicle registration of
such person, and to continue that spspension in force uniil such me ax
the fund has been repaid in fulf, or the peraon enters into a partial payment
agreement and takes out finapcial responsibility insurance.

By reference to the various provizioms above, it 1s obvious that ihe
legishuture bas ploced no bmitotion en recovery from the lund by reason
ol the status of the claimant himself. Byea though a person is a pedesitian
or a passenger In a vehicle at the Hme of the accident. doesn't own a
vehicle and 5 therefore not subject &y the requirement that he pay a fee
into Lhe aceddent claims lund, be is 53Ul eligible lo wake a claim from the
fund. There is a limitation that & ¢laim may be made from the fund enly
with respect by damrages collsed Ty an Uninstred motor vehicle, but there
% no (orther specific limitaton that such onissorad vehicle he regislered
in Michigan.

Applying the principle that cxcmptions in the statute arc not cxtended
bevond their plain meaning, supra, we may therefore conclude that since
the legislalure Tuied lo specilically inchixkde n hmialon thal no glaims
would be paid where the damages are caused by a nooresident wninsured
motorist, the legislature did pot intend to limit claims from the fund in
this manner.

There remains however one difficully.  Ax noled above, when g claim
is made from the fund. the scerctary is clther contractually or statutorily
subrogated to the rights of the claimant and is authorized to take appropriate
action against the offending purty lo recover the amount which Lthe fund
has paid oul. Sections 6 and 10 of The et also contain approprinle peovi-
sions authorizing the secretary to suspend the operator’s or chauffeurs
license and the owner's registration of the person who caused the damace
and to comtinve that suspension unfil such time as the debtor has either
repaid the amount of the debt in full to the fuond. or has commenced in-
stallment pavments and taken out financial responsibility insurancs., Sec-
tiphe 0 and 10 do not specifically authorize the secretary to suspend the
nonresident driving privileges of 8 nonresident, uninsured moetorist, who is
found to have been at fault in the accident.

If the secretary pays a claim cul of the {und, tesuliing from damage
cavsed by o nonresidenl uoinsercd motorist, whose operator’s licemse and
vehicle registrations have been issued by his state of residence, the seorelary
has no specific authority under Act 198 tn suspend such license or reg-
islration. It would scem, therefore, that the secretary would have no way
of effectivcly attcmpting to récover for the fund amounts paid ont with
respect to damapes caused by a nonresileid.  Fram this it might be inferred
that the legislature did not in the lirst place intend that the secretary
should make payments out of the fund with respect to damages caused by
nonrcaidents.

It must be noted. however, that Act 198 und Chapter V of Act 300,
P.A. 1949, us amended, (The Financial Responsibility Law) must be
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eonkirued in pari materia.  Both Act Mo, 198 nnd Chapter ¥V of Act 300
relate to and desl with the same subjoet, ic., damapes reanlting from ac-
cidents involving uninsured motorists. No part of Chapter ¥V of Act 300
was repealed by Aci Mo, 198, A persim whi suifers damuge at the hands
of an uninsured motorist, must comply with the provisions of Act No. 198
in order to recover for those damapes from the motor vehicte accident claims
lumd. “T'his snme person wlso hes recourse to severnl provisions ol Chapler
YV to aid him in seeking recovery for -his damages. The provisions of
Chapiler % also appty indepemdently 1o the ooinsared motorist who 15 In-
violved in an necident.  And in fact, Act Wo, 188 delines an “nmmsored
motor vehicle™ by reference to the provisions of Chapter 'V of Act No. 300

In additiop, both Chaptar ¥V oand Act ™Mo, 198 deal in appropriata ways
with uninsurcd matorists against whom jirdpments arc rendered for damages
caused in automobile accidents. Act 198 authorizes the secerctary, under
appropriale circumsiances, 1o pay to the injured party the amount of the
judyment and to take appropriste steps to suspend the vperalor’s license of
the judgment debtor. Lntrely independently, Chapter V of Act 300 au-
tharizes the secretary of stats to suspend either the operator’s leoense o
the nontresident driving privileges of 2 judgment debtor ogwinsl whom w
judpment has been rendered as a result of an automohile aceident when
that judgment has rerogined unpaid Tar 30 days.  The provistons of
Chapter V of Act 300 male it ¢lcar that the secrelary is sulhonzed to take
approprigle aclion againsi not only the operator’s license of a Michigan
resident, but the driving privileges al a vovresident wha would ofherwise
e authorized to drive in Michigan if he possessed a valid opernrors loense
issuad by another jurizdiction.®

Jt iy therelore my apiniun for the reasons sei forth above that 4 Michigan
resident injured in Michigun by a pouresident, uninsured motorist s
authorized to make a claim against the moeter vehicle aceident clyims fond.

FEANK I. KELLEY,
Arorney Geneval,

GSec. 302 (3} und {4), AMwhigun vehicle code. (MOSA IYGD Kev, Yol
¥ U M),




